A Platform to Experience the Passion of Cricket - Cricket For India
CricketforIndia.com - A platform to experience the passion of cricket through cricket fans, cricket lovers, featured cricketers and legends of Indian cricket.

25th June is a historic date in the Indian Cricket calendar since India won the World Cup on this very day It is also significant as India played its first official Test Match at the Mecca of Cricket; Lord's, under the captaincy of CK Nayudu in 1932. On this day, in the year 2004, Cricketforindia website was launched.


[1) Connect to other members of CFI community and also learn the techniques of batting, bowling, fielding and wicket keeping through content provided by cricket legends, coaches, and veterans of the game.

2) Get featured on CFI and its related social media sites by uploading your profile, specialized skill, statistics, photos of your favorite cricketer/s and also matches played by you.

3) Play exciting games and compete with other CFI members.

VVS Laxman, one of India's ace batsmen, has contributed to exclusive columns on cricketforindia.com, wherein he states his views on matters concerning the game.

Prominent personalities such as Shri Sunil Gavaskar, Prof. Ratnakar Shetty, Bapu Nadkarni and Rahul Dravid have endorsed the website. The website is also affiliated to Maharashtra Board schools. With this cricketfrorindia is reaching out to children who have the will and determination to excel in cricket but are not able to get the right guidance to play the game.

The website is an institution that celebrates and commemorates the heartbeat of the nation; Cricket. It is committed to guide, encourage and inspire the future of Indian cricket.

Srilatha Reddy, Technical Manager

Srilatha Reddy is the Technical Manager for the content on Cricket For India. She is responsible for content positioning, uploading and entire technical management of the website. She has completed Master of Computer Applications (MCA) from Osmania University. She is working with Cricket For India Team since past 9 years.

Cricketforindia.com Content Providers : -

Late Mr.Ashok Mankad
Ashok Mankad first came into prominence by scoring a half-century as a teenager against the MCC for West Zone in 1963-64. A series of big scores over the years saw him get his break against New Zealand in 1969-70. He went in late in the order and then because of circumstances was pushed to the opening slot. He was an instant success in his new role against Australia, negotiating McKenzie and Connolly with ease and running up successive scores of 74, 8, 64, 68 and 97.

He had a fair amount of success on the tour of West Indies in 1971, striking up a good combination with 'new boy' Sunil Gavaskar with whom he shared partnerships of 68, 74, 72 and 123 (unbroken).

He did well enough but was dropped and was again considered for only one Test against England later that season. He did reasonably well in the series in Australia in 1977-78 (he headed the tour averages with 508 runs at 50.80). In first class cricket however Mankad has been in a class of his own. In the Ranji Trophy alone, he has scored 6619 runs (76.08) with 22 hundreds with a highest score of 265 against Delhi in the 1980-81 final.

Late Mr.Polly Umrigar. Ex Indian Cricket Captain
One of the all time greats of Indian cricket, he was a heroic figure from the late forties to the early sixties, almost always shining in a losing cause. Despite this, when he retired, he held the most important records - most Tests, most runs, most hundreds. In fact his records stood from 1962 to 1978 when Sunil.Gavaskar broke them.

A burly six footer, Umrigar was a commanding figure at the crease - whether batting, bowling, directing operations as captain or standing in his usual position at first slip. Umrigar excelled in full-blooded drives but he could also hook and pull powerfully. As a bowler, he was an accurate offspinner and could even open the bowling, sending down outswingers. He was a brilliant versatile fielder.

Either as batsman, bowler or captain, he helped shape the few Indian triumphs of his time. For 30 years he held the record of getting the highest score by an Indian on tour - 252 not out against Cambridge University in 1959. As a bowler, his finest hour was when he took 4 for 27 while helping India to defeat mighty Australia at Kanpur in 1959. A shrewd captain, he led India in eight Tests, winning two and losing two before he resigned the captaincy at Madras against West Indies in 1959 following a misunderstanding with the selectors.

He is only one of two Indian cricketers (Vinoo Mankad being the other) to score a century and take five wickets in an innings - a feat he achieved against West Indies at Port of Spain in 1962. Umrigar was the first Indian to hit a Test double century. After retirement, he continued to serve Indian cricket as chairman of the selection committee, tour manager and BCCI executive secretary.

Piloo Reporter, Ex. Intl. Umpire
Officiated in 14 Tests and 23 one-day internationals. One half of the first pair of 'neutral' umpires in Test cricket since 1912, when he and V. K. Ramaswamy did duty in the Test series between Pakistan and the West Indies in 1986-87. India's sole umpiring representative in the 1992 World Cup.

Devendra Prabhudesai
Like every Mumbai boy, Devendra Prahhudesai (Born: 1976) wanted to be a cricketer. In his childhood, he exasperated one and all with his passion for the game, which most of the time bordered on the insane. He first attended a coaching camp at the age of 12 and realized fairly quickly that while the spirit was willing, the talent was weak. He compensated by winning an inter - collegiate cricket quiz competition at 17.

He completed his MA (Social Work) from TISS, Mumbai in 1988.

Like a true Indian, his 'second innings' has been a lot better than the first. It began in August 2000, when fate led him to Sunil Gavaskar's Professional Management Group.

His objective mirrors that of the website - To make cricketforindia.com the best sports coaching site in the world.

S. P. Bhatia
An opening batsman and wicketkeeper, he represented Mumbai in the under - 19 Cooch Behar trophy in the 1940s. In later years, he opened the batting with the illustrious Vijay Merchant in club cricket and coached many an accomplished cricketer, like Ashok Mankad, Budhi Kunderan and Sharad Hazare.

Dr. Aijaz Ashai (Pysiotherapist of the Mumbai Indians- Indian Premier League(IPL) team) Dr. Aijaz Ashai is a physiotherapist, physical trainer, instructor, writer and sportsman, all rolled into one. An alumnus of the National Institute for the Orthopedically Handicapped, Kolkata, he has been associated with spurts for the last seven years.

Email: cricket@cricketforindia.com