The Challenger Trophy - an annual day-night limited-overs tournam

The Challenger Trophy

- By Statsman    

The BCCI introduced the Challenger Trophy, an annual day-night limited-overs tournament featuring the top 36 cricketers in the country, in 1994-95. The 36 cricketers are divided into three teams; India Seniors, India 'A' and India 'B'. The teams play each other in a round-robin format, followed by the final between the top two teams in terms of points. Thus, a total of four matches are played.

The tenth edition of the tournament got underway in Mumbai on 7th February 2005. The tournament has completed a decade. Given below is a dossier of the last ten editions:

Season Venue Winners Runners-up
1994-95 Kolkata India Seniors India A
1995-96 Hyderabad India Seniors India A
1996-97 Mohali India Seniors India B
1997-98 Mumbai India Seniors India A
1998-99 Ahmedabad India A & B -
1999-00 Ahmedabad India Seniors India A
2000-01 Chennai India Seniors India A
2001-02 Bangalore India 'A' India Seniors
2003-04 Bangalore India 'A' India B


1) India A & B were declared joint winners in 1998-99 when rain abandoned most of the matches .

2) The tournament was not played in the 2002-03 season