Poll - cricket for india


'Out' or 'Not Out'? What is your opinion?
What is your opinion?

Dimuth Karunaratne of Srilanka recently was declared 'out' as he casually lifted his back foot when Australian wicketkeeper Peter Nevill whipped off the bails and grinned with joy. Some reporters tweeted it was against the spirit of the game as the ball was dead. Adam Gitlchrist, Mitchell Johnson praised Nevill on Twitter, calling the dismissal “game awareness”.

Was Peter Neville being cheeky or was it game awareness? What are your thoughts be on this controversial decision? ‪#‎SLvAUS‬ Your comments and responses are welcome, ‪#‎crickerforindia‬ fans!

The Laws of Cricket state describe the ball as dead “when it is finally settled in the hands of the wicketkeeper or of the bowler”. However, “whether the ball is finally settled or not is a matter for the umpire alone to decide”.

Law 23 says “the ball shall be considered to be dead when it is clear to the bowler’s end umpire that the fielding side and both batsmen at the wicket have ceased to regard it as in play”.