Details of prized wickets claimed by the last seven world record

The prized scalps

- By Statsman    

Following are the details of prized wickets claimed by the last seven world record holders on their way to the coveted milestone of the most Test wickets:

Lance Gibbs(WI) :- Victim No 308 - Off spinner Lance Gibbs took his prized wicket when he had opener Ian Redpath of Australia, caught on the long on boundary by Michael Holding at Melbourne on January 31, 1976.

Dennis Lillee (Aust) :- Victim No 310 - The right handed fast bowler induced an edged stroke from Larry Gomes of West Indies, to be caught by skipper Greg Chappell in the slip cordon at Melbourne on December 27, 1981.

Ian Botham (Eng) :- Victim No 356 - The all rounder reached the landmark when he had one down batsman Jeff Crowe lbw for eight in the first innings of the Oval Test against New Zealand on August 21, 1986

Richard Hadlee (NZ) :- Victim No 374 - All rounder from Kiwi Richard Hadlee leapt high in jubilation when he had Indian opener Arul Lal safely caught at third slip by Kujgeleijn at Bangalore on November 12, 1988.

Kapil Dev (Ind) :- Victim No 432 - It was Sri Lanka's Hashan Tillekarartne, well caught by Sanjay Manjrekar at short leg during the Ahmedabad Test on February 8, 1994. He played just a solitary Test match after this feat.

Courtney Walsh (WI) :- Victim No 435 - The right arm fast bowler reached the coveted milestone with the prized wicket of Zimbabwe's last man Henry Olonga who was a victim of a lifting delivery to be well taken by Wavell Hinds at short leg at Kingston on March 27, 2000

Muttiah Muralitharan (SL) :- Victim No 520 - The off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan had his prized scalp whin he had Mluleki Nkala well taken by Jayawardene at silly point during the Harare Test against Zimbabwe on Saturday, May 8, 2004.